The Faculty Development Committee acts as a guide for AMEE in all areas relating to Faculty Development and has the following as its driving goals:

  • To advance best practice and excellence in the development of health professional academic faculty across the globe
  • To provide advice to the AMEE Executive Committee and AMEE staff on the area of faculty and health professional educator development
  • To promote scholarly work in faculty and health professional educator development to and among the membership of AMEE
  • To oversee the selection of sites and appointment of conference organising committees for biennial International Conferences on Faculty Development in the Health Professions into the future
  • To develop and deliver a symposium on a current topic in faculty and health professional educator development at each AMEE conference that is not associated with an International Conference on Faculty Development in the Health Professions
  • To consider and develop other global and regional activities to support and advance faculty and health professional educator development
  • To keep AMEE members informed about current issues and events in faculty and health professional educator development through MedEdWorld and MedEdPublish.
  • Our Projects

    The next Faculty Development Conference will be held in conjunction with AMEE 2023. Our 6th International Conference on Faculty Development in the Health Professions was held in conjunction with AMEE 2021.
    Online Faculty Development Journal club (will require you to sign into your AMEE account to view)
    Special Issue in Medical Teacher on FD Research and Innovation
    Faculty Development Listserv to facilitate sharing and exchange

    Completed Projects:
  • The publication of a special issue in Medical Teacher on “Faculty Development in the Health Professions”. This special issue included 6 research papers and 12 innovation reports from around the world, together with a commentary exploring faculty development through the lens of adaptive expertise.
  • The successful hosting of the 6th International Conference on Faculty Development in the Health Professions, which was offered virtually in conjunction with AMEE 2021 and focused on “Faculty Development in Times of Extraordinary Change”. The next international conference will be held in 2023.
  • A new series of online Faculty Development Journal Clubs, focusing on educational competencies of teachers and faculty developers, teacher identity, and faculty development around the world. In 2022, this series, which complements faculty development webinars that focus on key educational topics, will focus on selected articles published in the special issue of Medical Teacher.
  • The ongoing promotion of scholarly work in faculty development through the awarding of Faculty Development research grants and hosting of educational activities to foster the effective dissemination of scholarly work.
  • The creation of a Faculty Development Committee Internship Program, to introduce community members to the work of the Committee.
  • The establishment of a Faculty Development Communications Subcommittee to help promote community engagement, networking, and information exchange via various platforms (including the Faculty Development Listserv and Twitter account.)

    Search FacDev

    Our own custom search engine powered by google which indexes faculty development materials and publications. Find the Faculty Development resources you need.

    AMEE FacDev Search  

    Help us improve the search FacDev tool by suggesting content to be indexed, or sending us content to be uploaded. Complete the online form to make your suggestions.

    Our Committee

  • Professor Yvonne Steinert (Canada) – Chair
  • Professor Eliana Amaral (Brazil)
  • Dr Megan Anakin (New Zealand)
  • Associate Professor Ruth Chen (Canada)
  • Associate Professor Manuel João Tavares Mendes Costa (Portugal)
  • Professor Diana Dolmans (Netherlands)
  • Associate Professor Ardi Findyartini (Indonesia)
  • Professor Emeritus David Irby (USA)
  • Professor Karen Leslie (Canada)
  • Professor Patricia O’Sullivan (USA)
  • Professor Harm Peters (Germany)
  • Professor Olanrewaju Sorinola (UK)
  • Professor Tripti Srivastava (India)
  • Dr Farhan Vakani (Pakistan)
  • Professor Susan van Schalkwyk (South Africa)
  • Associate Professor Da-ya Yang (China)
  • Faculty Development Journal Club

    Watch each of the Journal Club sessions

    Welcome from the new AMEE President

    Read the welcome message from the new AMEE President, Subha Ramani


    Press Release: AMEE Associate Fellow selected for The Pathologist Power List 2022

    AMEE Associate Fellow Dr. Fatma Alzahraa A. Elkhamisy has been selected as one of the most inspiring pathology educators worldwide in the “Power List 2022”


    Press Release: 2022 ASPIRE to Excellence Award Winners

    Announcing the winners of the 2022 ASPIRE to Excellence Awards, and the awards for Merit