The overall mission of the AMEE Technology Enhanced Learning (TEL) Committee is to guide AMEE’s TEL and related activities. The focus is on enhancing teaching and learning by the use of general education technologies with special emphasis on the education pedagogies underlying their use. It supports the AMEE Executive Committee in achieving its strategic goals by providing advice and support regarding the AMEE Conference, an eLearning symposium every 3 years, and online tools for AMEE membership activities.

Our Projects

The TEL community and its individual members give presentations and produce a range of publications dealing with the use of technology in medical education.Development of a consensus statement on emergent and current trends in eLearning.

Ongoing / Repeated Projects:

  • AMEE conference abstract reviews and judging of ePosters
  • Online meetings (1-2 times per year)
  • Open meeting at the AMEE conference
  • AMEE TEL Committee Innovation Development Grant
  • ASPIRE-to-Excellence Award launched in 2021: The TEL ASPIRE Award recognises institutional excellence in the use of technology to enhance teaching and learning

    Completed Projects:

  • TEL Symposium: Organised at AMEE Conference 2021 - The lessons learned for using Technology Enhanced Learning during the COVID-19 pandemic. Associated rapid review published in Medical Teacher
  • At the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic and the transition to online education published ‘Twelve tips for rapidly migrating to online learning during the COVID-19 pandemic’ in MedEdPublish
  • AMEE Conference 2022: TEL Committee members provided several TEL themed sessions in the main AMEE Conference and have reviewed technology abstracts
  • ePosters: The Committee has organized judging of ePosters to select the best ePoster presented at AMEE Conference 2022

    Our Committee

    Regular Members

  • Daniel Salcedo, USA (Chair for 3 years)
  • Raquel Correia, France (Vice-Chair for 3 years)
  • Michelle Aebersold, USA
  • Dario Cecilio-Fernandes, Brazil
  • David Cook, USA
  • Peter GM de Jong, Netherlands
  • Eric Gantwerker, USA
  • Poh Sun Goh, Singapore
  • Julius Josef Kaminski, Germany
  • Ken Masters, Oman
  • Rakesh Patel, UK
  • Kalyani Premkumar, Canada
  • Martin Pusic, USA
  • Stefano Sandrone, UK
  • Monika Sobocan, Slovenia
  • James Thomas, UK
  • Alexandra Webb, Australia

  • Special Members

  • John Sandars, UK (Past-Chair for 1 year)
  • Kosha Gala, India (Student member for 1 year)
  • Yaaser Hamza, Kenya (Student member for 1 year)
  • Open call for Committee Members

    The application deadline for new member positions on the Technology Enhanced Learning Committee has now closed. 

    Application deadline - 28 February 2023
    Applicants notified of decision - 1 June 2023

    Appointment of the 2024 Conference Programme Chair

    Jen Cleland has been appointed as the Programme Chair of the AMEE 2024 Conference.


    Winners of the 2023 Faculty Development Research Grant Announced

    We are delighted to announce the recipients of the AMEE 2023 Faculty Development Research Grant.